FBCWA Overview

Woodlots and Woodlot Licencees are small scale forest managers who strive to take a hands-on approach to natural resource management. Timber is harvested in a manner consistent with principles of stewardship and sustainability. Each year the Minister of Forests, Lands and Natural Resource Operations recognizes woodlot licensees in three different regions in the province, Northern Interior, Southern Interior, and the Coast as well as an overall provincial winner with an Award for Innovation and Excellence in Woodlot Management.

The award program was introduced at the AGM in Quesnel, September 2010 with Pat Bell, Minister of Forests, Range and Mines, awarding $500 to Alex Hartford (Coastal recipient), Anne Davidson (Northern Interior recipient) and Rod Blake (Southern Interior recipient) in recognition of the “true legacies” these licensees created in woodlot management.

2019 Call For Nominations

Nominations for the 2019 Minister’s Awards for Innovation and Excellence are now being accepted. The deadline for nominations is Friday, August 30, 2019. This is your chance to nominate a woodlot licensee who you consider to be a good manager and worthy of being recognized!

Information about eligibility, award criteria and the application process can be found at Forms & Applications

For additional information please contact:
Brian McNaughton, FBCWA General Manager

2018 Recipients

Charles Bloom Secondary School – South Area and Overall Provincial Award

Saulteau First Nations (John Stokmans) – North Area Award

Todd and Joan Thompson – Coast Area Award

To learn more, click here.

Past Recipients

To learn more about past recipients, click here.

The Woodlot Product Development Council also recognizes a woodlot licensee or group of licensees for their stewardship or contribution to BC’s Woodlot Licence program each year.

To view videos of past recipients, click here.